Honors / Recognition

Thomas A. Wiseman III Gail Vaughn Ashworth Byron R. Trauger
Margaret Moore Kimberly G. Silvus Michele T. Marsicano
Anthony C. Bills Brad Dowd Johnson Laney
Matthew Holman Megan Frazier Katie Koss

Johnson Laney

ph: 615.254.1877
email: johnson@watlawgroup.com

Johnson Laney joined Wiseman Ashworth Trauger as an Associate Attorney in May of 2022. He graduated from the University of Georgia School of Law in May 2019. During law school, Johnson was the President of the Health Law Society and the recipient of the State Bar of Georgia Health Law’s Alan Rumph Award. He was an Editorial Member of the Journal of Intellectual Property Law and recipient of the Journal’s 2018 Best Short Note Award. While in law school, Johnson was a Compliance Intern at Emory Healthcare and an Ethics and Risk Management Intern at Memorial Health University Center in Savannah, Georgia. Prior to law school, Johnson attended Emory University and Oxford College of Emory University.

Before joining Wiseman Ashworth Trauger, Johnson completed his Postdoctoral Fellowship in Clinical Ethics at Vanderbilt University in 2022. At Vanderbilt, he served alongside healthcare providers and administrators to provide ethics consultations and lessons in healthcare ethics. Before beginning his fellowship, Johnson served as an Ethics and Compliance Officer for TriStar Centennial Medical Center in Nashville and was a member of Centennial’s Medical Ethics Committee. He routinely lectures on medical ethics, bioethics and professionalism.

Johnson is a longtime resident of Nashville and graduated from MLK Jr. Magnet High School in 2009. When not practicing law, Johnson enjoys riding his bike with his dog, listening to live local music, and supporting the Titans.

  • Mental Health Law
  • Medical Ethics
  • Health Care Law
  • Healthcare Liability Defense
  • Long Term Care Defense

Georgia, 2020
Tennessee, 2022

Tennessee Bar Association
Nashville Bar Association
Georgia Bar Association
Certified as a Healthcare Ethics Consultant, May 2022

University of Georgia School of Law, 2019

Emory University, 2013